Tampa Bay Double-Goal Coach® Regional Award Winners recognized at University of South Florida Basketball event

PCA- Tampa Bay’s 2023 Double-Goal Coach® Regional Winners on court recognition (From Left to Right: Monique Herrera, Michael Kelly- USF’s Director of Athletics, Micheal Garcia, James Stevens, JaJa Richards and son, Ellie Wilbur, Paul Noble, Brittany Collison, Sarah Reiss, Ian Matthews, and Rocky the Bull.)

Tampa — Positive Coaching Alliance – Tampa Bay, the local chapter of the national non- profit Positive Coaching Alliance (PCA) that develops “Better Athletes, Better People” through youth and high school sports, hosted an event on Monday, December 19, 2022 to celebrate their newest Double-Goal Coach® Regional winners.

PCA’s Double-Goal Coach® Awards program recognizes coaches who strive to win while also teaching life lessons. This year’s Regional Winners include 11 local coaches from 4 Bay area counties.

Winners were recognized at half time of the University of South Florida’s Men’s Basketball game vs Hofstra University. Prior to the game, a reception was held at USF’s Yuengling Center for Regional and National Double-Goal Coach® alumni, along with all twenty-two of this year’s nominees and those that nominated them.

Double-Goal Coach® Awards program alumni in attendance included:

  • Coach Jayne Chapman, 2016 National Winner and PCA Trainer
  • Coach Anthony Triana, 2017 National Winner
  • Coach Jerrell Hardy, 2022 Regional Winner
  • Coach Matthew Booth, 2022 Regional Winner and PCA Trainer
  • Coach Darlene Nelson, 2022 Regional Winner
  • Coach Angel Ramirez, 2022 Regional Winner
  • Coach Eric Blackburn, 2022 National Winner
This year’s class of 2023 Double-Goal Coach® Regional Winners and Nominees in attendance included:
  • Coach Brittany Collison, Regional Winner (Wesley Chapel High School)
  • Coach Joeyn Dearsman, Regional Nominee (River Ridge High School)
  • Coach Micheal Garcia, Regional Winner (East Orlando Track Club)
  • Coach Monique Herrera, Regional Winner (Ultra Heat Allstars)
  • Coach Cesar Lozano, Regional Winner (West Tampa Little League)
  • Coach Ian Matthews, Regional Winner (Osceola High School)
  • Coach Paul Noble, Regional Winner (Steinbrenner High School)
  • Coach Sarah Reiss, Regional Winner (Plant High School)
  • Coach JaJa Richards, Regional Winner (All Stars are Bright)
  • Coach Carl Scott, Regional Nominee (First Tee -Tampa Bay)
  • Coach Stacie Seal, Regional Nominee (Girls on the Run)
  • Sensei James Stevens, Regional Winner (West Coast Karate)
  • Coach Ellie Wilbur, Regional Winner (Brooks DeBartolo High School)
  • Coach Mike Zeliff, Regional Nominee (Lightning High School Hockey League)

Thanks to Weatherford Capital for their sponsorship and making this event possible.

PCA will name up to twenty-five (25) National Double-Goal Coach winners in January 2023. One Coach of the Year will be named at PCA’s Game Changer Awards & Benefit on Thursday, January 26, 2023 at 5:30pm PST at the Chase Center in San Francisco, CA. Click here to learn more about this year’s Game Changer Awards & Benefit.