The PCA Blog - Minnesota

Minnesota Impact Award Celebration


Hosted at the Radisson Blu MOA

The Minnesota Impact Awards Celebration on November 13 at Radisson Blu MOA was a huge success. A crowd of 200 helped raise almost $46K for PCA-Minnesota. The funds will be used for next year’s student-athlete scholarships, as well as keeping coach, parent and athlete workshops affordable for youth sports organizations.

A big thank you to all who donated and especially to our Silver Sponsor Minnesota Vikings and our Bronze Sponsors Minnesota United FC and Minnesota Hockey, for making the event possible!

It was particularly special to recognize our 10 amazing Triple-Impact Competitor
® Scholarship recipients, all whose $1,000 scholarships were funded by the Super Bowl Host Committee Legacy Fund:

Connor Duerre-Ekstrom, Tartan High School; Christine Erickson, Columbia Heights High School; Laura Friedmann, Henry Sibley High School; Grant Garding, Kimball Area High School; Clyde Jensen, Kelliher High School; Megan Kartheiser, Century High School; Rachel Neugert, Rocori High School; Hope Petersen, Melrose Area High School;
Hanna Sveen, Dover-Eyota High School; and Anne Wong, Eagan High School.

Carrie Berran, Jr. NBA Coach of the Year received this Sports Impact Award for her 23-years of coaching youth and years of service as President of Eagan Athletic Association. She finds joy in developing young players to build their confidence, raise their sports IQ and teach trust in teammates and coaches.

Additionally, Kevin Warren received the Triple-Impact Competitor® Business Executive of the Year Award. Warren shared how he overcame a horrific car accident as a child and was told he may never walk again. He worked hard and rehabilitated by swimming and went on to play college basketball. He remains grateful EVERY DAY and says “you have to have a test, to have a testimony.” Warren is indeed a role model in the sports world and has held high level positions in the NFL, and currently is the Chief Operating Officer for the Minnesota Vikings!